Existential Grammar

(Brushing away cobwebs) It’s been a long time.
NaBloWriMo is the perfect kick that I need to restart this habit.

So to ease back in, here is a glimpse of the things that take up room in my head. Room that would be better used to remember things like the names of everyday objects and the dates of haircut appointments.

If something is pointless, can it then be pointful?
Why isn’t the adjective form of sarcasm sarcasmic?
If one can be discombobulated, can one then be combobulated? Or is it just bobulated?
If the past tense of lay is laid, then why isn’t the past tense of play plaid?
Can one be just whelmed?

Hand With Reflecting Sphere, MC Escher, 1935

Hand With Reflecting Sphere, MC Escher, 1935

Please feel free to add your questions. I would love to hear your Existential Grammar musings.

That is, unless I’m the only one who spends brain cells on this stuff.

About techlady911

Still trying to decide what I want to be when I grow up. Pictures are my lifeline, words are my wings.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Existential Grammar

  1. miizzyy says:

    Inflammable- Easy to catch fire, flammable- easy to catch fire

Leave a comment