My Heart Went to Space With Sally Ride

My heart went to space with Sally Ride.
The first woman in space I dreamed would be me
Had hair curlier than mine
And a smile warmer than mine
And a mind much sharper than mine
But she had my heart.

It felt the rumble of the rockets at takeoff
And our heart paused for a shred of a second.
Then our heart fluttered
Watching the sky from the cocoon of our seat
Moving from blue to deeper blue to indigo to black.

But the stars — Oh, the stars.
“The stars aren’t bigger, but they are brighter,”
said the astronaut with my heart.

The sight of stars
Which always always cause my heart to swell
And my breathing to slow,
The sight of stars from space (breathe deep)

And the song began.
A sound like the resonance of finest crystal
Felt first, then heard
By the shared heart that lifted itself to sing
To SING
To join the most ancient and deep and profound of songs
The hum, the chant, the symphony of the Universe.

My heart went to space with Sally Ride.
It sings the crystalline melody still.

Sally Ride on the Flight Deck of STS7

About techlady911

Still trying to decide what I want to be when I grow up. Pictures are my lifeline, words are my wings.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

14 Responses to My Heart Went to Space With Sally Ride

  1. I love this poem, but this stanza made me breathe in once, sharply, because it is crisp and evocative and unusual:

    But the stars — Oh, the stars.
    “The stars aren’t bigger, but they are brighter,”
    said the astronaut with my heart.

    Excellent memoriam for an amazing woman, TL911. You hit just the right note. Thank you.

  2. This is beautiful! I hope it’s okay, I’m sharing it. Thanks!

  3. boomeresq says:

    I was so proud if her then and now. Ride, Sally Ride.

  4. Beth says:

    What a beautiful, heartfelt tribute. Thank you so much!

  5. Inspiring…I can feel the emotion and the glory.

  6. bronxboy55 says:

    This is a beautiful tribute to a true pioneer. Sally Ride could have easily leveraged her accomplishments into celebrity status, but preferred to continue working as a scientist and teacher — much like Neil Armstrong, who also died last summer.

    Wonderful poem, Tess. I hope your heart continues to “sing the crystalline melody.”

  7. Jennifer says:

    We are using this beautiful poem for my 4th grade daughters wax museum project. She is honored to be Sally Ride…a true American HERO!!!

    • techlady911 says:

      Jennifer, I’m honored. Thank you! I would appreciate it if you included my name somewhere in the documentation as the writer if the poem. And I’d love to know more about the project – it sounds awesome! Please let me know how she does with it. And pictures might be nice 🙂 Best of luck!

Leave a Reply

