We’re Mad as Hell, and…Oh, You Know the Rest…

Posted to the email accounts of John Boehner, Harry Reid, Mitch McConnell, Eric Cantor, Sherrod Brown, Patrick Tiberi, Rob Portman, and the President of the United States:

I’m going to get straight to the point: stop playing games with my future and my country.  I have worked too bloody hard over the past thirty years to watch my retirement and my security disappear because of ideologues on both sides of the aisle.  While you posture & parrot the desires of your big money donors, the majority of this nation suffers greatly in the throes of an intractable recession that shows no signs of abating.

Enough with the political theater. All I hear from either side is talking points, while I witness a slow and inexorable takeover of my democracy by corporations and corporate interests. The vast majority of hard working American citizens did not make this mess, but we sure are the ones picking up the pieces. We have watched as the most robust economy in history crashed into a brick wall because of greed on Wall Street and unfettered warmongering in Washington, all of it eroding our resources and our confidence.  Even our Court of Last Resort is for sale – how much does a majority opinion cost, anyway? I don’t even recognize my own country any more, and it makes me sad and it makes me sick.

You’d have to be deaf, dumb and blind to not know that the majority of Americans believe that the best solution right now includes raising revenue and cutting spending. I will happily pay more taxes if it means that the most vulnerable among us don’t suffer unduly. Shall I translate for you? Don’t dare cut Medicare, Medicaid or Social Security without ending Bush era tax cuts and closing corporate tax loopholes that allow the greediest of the greedy to contribute nothing to this crisis. However, feel free to slash away at your own salaries and benefits, as mine continue to erode every day this recession drags on.

All I’m asking is that you release your stranglehold on the legislative process and cooperate. Let go of the “all or nothing” mentality and the brinksmanship. Oh, and please stop using the euphemism “Jobs Creators.” You’re not fooling anyone.

Here’s the thing: right now you might be bowing to whomever bought the election for you, but make no mistake – the American electorate will not let it happen again.  We are angry, and we have had it with you.

Sincerely,

Tess Wigginton
Newark, Ohio

About techlady911

Still trying to decide what I want to be when I grow up. Pictures are my lifeline, words are my wings.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to We’re Mad as Hell, and…Oh, You Know the Rest…

Leave a Reply

