Washington in a Skillet

Dear Congress:

We like smoked sausage in our house.

However, my husband likes it sliced and sautéed. I do not. I believe that the sausage gets far too salty when prepared this way. I prefer it cut into large chunks. This reduces the amount of surface area that is exposed to direct heat, therefore keeping the sausage juicy and tasty. We cannot agree on this point. So this evening, I stared at the loop of smoked sausage, bewildered. If I gave in and sliced it so he would like it, I would hate it and be grumpy about dinner. But if I chose to be stubborn and prepare it the way I prefer, he would hate it and be grumpy. I stared at the loop of smoked sausage.

Then it hit me.

I could slice part of the sausage ,  cut the rest into chunks, and saute it all together. That way we would both get to enjoy sausage the way we liked, with no undue hardship for either side.

And that is how you compromise.

The Skillet of Compromise

About techlady911

Still trying to decide what I want to be when I grow up. Pictures are my lifeline, words are my wings.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Washington in a Skillet

  1. MichaelEdits says:

    A lesson to learn, a tasty post, and I’m not stretching the analogy into commenting on pork in Washington.

  2. tanoshinde says:

    Brilliant!

    I’m adding you to my list of people for whom I will happily vote should you appear on any ballot to which I have access.

    Why is it so hard for the folks in Washington to get this kind of concept?

Leave a Reply

